Grandma’s Ginger Snaps


A few years ago, Grandma gave me a blue binder full of recipes from a cooking course she took in the church basement during 1973 – 1974.  Apparently they made a lot of hamburger buns in this course because there are a LOT of hamburger bun recipes marked as VVG in this binder.  Since I am out of beef (I will be returning to the Motherland this weekend to restock on essential items such as beef, cheese, maple syrup and beer) I’m not really in the market for hamburger buns.  So, I dug a little deeper and ran across this gem, marked as “v. good” by Grandma (yes, the good was underlined):

Chicken Buffet Mold
1 envelope (1 tbsp. unflavored gelatin)
1 c. mayonnaise or salad dressing
1 1/2 c. diced, cooked or canned chicken
1/2 c. chopped, unpared cucumbers
1/2 c. diced celery
3 tbsp. minced onion
3 tbsp. chopped green olives
1 tbsp. diced pimento
2 tbsp. lemon juice
1/2 tsp. salt
1/3 tsp. paprika
1 c. heavy cream, whipped

Soften gelatin in cold water; dissolve over hot water; then add all at once to the mayonnaise.  Stir in remaining ingredients except cream.  Whip cream and fold in.  Pour into oiled mold and allow to set for about six hours.  Trim as desired.

Now, I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking, “Alyssa – the title of this post is Grandma’s Ginger Snaps.  Why did you type up a recipe about moldy chicken?!”  Well, here’s your answer.  Although I’m sure this recipe was v. good in 1973, Grandma never made it for me and I am not about to make it in my lifetime.  HOWEVER, I don’t want to be accused of hoarding the v.g. recipes, so I feel it it is my duty to share it.  So, if you decide to make this, feel free to leave a comment and tell me how much I was missing out.

While I wait for you to cook up the moldy chicken, I’ll munch on the cookies I made today.  These ginger snaps were a treat that Grandma made for us quite regularly and are what I consider to be a more tried and true VVG recipe.  These really are fool-proof cookies (my neighbor Bri came over to help me bake them if that says anything).  Without further adieu, here’s the recipe!

Grandma’s Ginger Snaps
6 tbsp. butter or shortening (I used butter)
3/4 c. sugar
1/2 c. Grandma’s molasses
1 egg
2 c. flour
1 tsp. ground ginger
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground cloves
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 tsp. salt (I forgot it, oops)

Beat butter with sugar until light.  Mix in molasses and egg.  Sift dry ingredients and add to wet mixture.  Mix well. Chill in freezer 1 hour or in refrigerator 2 hours.  Heat oven to 350º.  Roll into 1 inch balls and dip in sugar.  Bake on a greased baking sheet for 10 – 12 minutes.

Note from Grandma:  This recipe is off the Grandma’s (Robust) bottle.  I’m sure other molasses brands will work too.

Note from Alyssa:  I used Brer Rabbit molasses.  Grandma was right – it worked too!

cookie jar with ginger snaps inside

7 responses to “Grandma’s Ginger Snaps

  1. To the person bold enough to try the chicken mold: my mother made this type of thing, too. She called it a vegetable mold and it was quite trendy back in the day. If you’re really going for the vintage appeal of this kind of recipe, do not chop the olives. Instead, slice them and be sure the adhere to the edges of the mold so they look like eyes staring at you out of the murky yonder.

    Or, make the molasses cookies. They really are wonderful!

  2. Neil and I are planning on throwing a mid-century modern dinner party this summer. The chicken mold recipe would be perfect. Even more perfect, the recipe holder make a guest appearance to the party!!

  3. Thanks, Alyssa.

  4. Excellent. I will plan to make the moldy chicken for neighbor dinner soon. But on a night Michael is busy–he is a vegetarian, afterall.

  5. I will try the cookies and leave the moldy chicken to others more brave than I.

    Thanks Alyssa, this sound like another great recipe.

  6. Pingback: Apple Kuchen « VVG – Very, Very Good

Leave a Reply

