Carrot and Beet Salad with Ginger Vinagrette


Last week’s CSA shipment brought in the last of the beets, and possibly the carrots as well.  I’m a little bummed.  Although I never liked beets much growing up, I’ve really come to enjoy them as an adult.  Pickled beets still aren’t my thing, but this salad and this gnocchi proved to be quite nice.  And then there’s my ol’ stand-by, the Carrot and Beet Salad with Ginger Vinagrette, found on Epicurious.

Come to think of it, this recipe is the last one I made with my Grandma before she passed away last year.  She was happy as a clam shredding carrots and I was equally happy shredding the beets.  Admittedly, the salad didn’t turn out that great last year because we didn’t have any fresh ginger and this recipe MUST use fresh ginger, not powdered, but I’m glad that my last moments spent with Grandma were in the kitchen, cooking together.

Carrot and Beet Salad with Ginger Vinagrette
4 c. shredded carrots
4 c. shredded beets
1/2 c. finely chopped onion
2 cloves garlic
2 Tbsp FRESH minced ginger
1/4 c. rice wine vinegar
1/2 tsp. seasame oil
1 Tbsp. soy sauce
Tabasco to taste
1/2 c. olive oil

Shred carrots and beets.  Put in a bowl and set aside.  Put all remaining ingredients except oil in a blender.  Blend.  Gradually add olive oil.  Pour dressing over beet and carrot mixture.  Enjoy!

2 responses to “Carrot and Beet Salad with Ginger Vinagrette

  1. Pingback: | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  2. I never tried beets until this summer and was surprised that they weren’t as bad as I had always imagined. I got a recipe from the Mill City Farmers Market for a beet, chevre, raspberry, pecan salad that was unbelievable. They took the recipes down off the site, but I have a PDF I can send you if you’re interested in trying it.

    I love your blog! I’ve been having so much fun reading through it. My grandmother is a huge inspiration in the kitchen for me too so I loved reading about your grandma’s rating system for recipes!

Leave a Reply

