Lemon Raspberry Layer Cake


Last week was my neighbor Angela’s birthday.  In honor of her special day, I offered to make her this marmalade cake for her birthday.  She met my offer with, “That sounds great! Can you make it lemon?” Not wanting to disappoint, I opted to adjust this recipe to meet her specifications.  Why I didn’t look for a different recipe or just make her lemon bars (a tried and true VVG recipe that I must make one of these days!), I’ll never know.  Instead, I added most of the fat and then some back to the original Cooking Light recipe to create this delicious treat for Angela’s birthday.

This cake is tasty, but a little putsy so be willing to commit some time to it.  Those who have baked with me in the past know that I’m a one bowl kind of girl.  I add the ingredients in such a way so as to dirty as few dishes as possible.  Not the case with this cake. I dirtied a great many bowls in the making of this puppy, all in the name of a light and airy cake.  Also, the cake batter is very runny; I’ve made this before with success, but I do think reducing the amount of liquid (namely omitting the milk) might help out a bit in this regard.  Then again, I don’t think I have the best stove in the world, so it’s hard to say.  In the words of Grandma Ruesch, “it just isn’t quite right.”   No matter though, because as with all of the “dud” baked goods Grandma made us over the years, the cake is gone and there weren’t any complaints about the flavor or texture.

slice of lemon raspberry cake

Lemon Raspberry Layer Cake
Cake
Cooking spray
3  c.  sifted cake flour*
1 1/2  teaspoons  baking soda
3/4  teaspoon  salt
9  tablespoons  butter, softened
1 3/4  cups  sugar, divided
1 Tbsp. vanilla
4  large egg whites
1 1/4  c.  low-fat buttermilk
1  c.  milk

Lemon Syrup
1/2  c.  lemonade
1/4 c. sugar

Icings
1  (10 oz.) jar lemon curd
3 Tbsp. raspberry jam
1 pint whipped cream, whipped

Step 1:  Heat oven to 350º.  Grease your pans with cooking spray or butter.  Line the bottom of the pans with parchment paper.
Step 2:  Whisk sifted flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium sized bowl.
Step 3:  Beat butter with a mixer in a large bowl until light and fluffy.  Gradually add 1 3/4 cups sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until well blended. Beat in vanilla. Add egg whites, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.
Step 4:  Mix together buttermilk and milk.
Step 5.  Add flour mixture and buttermilk mixture alternately to butter mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixture.
Step 6:  Add batter to cake pans.  Bake in 350º oven for about 35 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool cakes completely.
Step 7:  Combine juice and 1/4 cup sugar; stir until sugar dissolves. Pierce the cake layers liberally with a wooden pick or fork. Slowly drizzle juice mixture over cake layers.
Step 8:  Carefully place 1 layer on a plate; spread with raspberry jam.  Then, spread with half of the lemon curd (depending on how thick your lemon curd is, you may want to water it down with a little lemonade).  Carefully place second layer on top of first layer of cake, raspberry jam and lemon curd.  Spread remaining lemon curd on top layer.  Spread whipped cream on sides of cake.
Step 9:  Chill cake for at least 2 hours before serving.

*Get this! I even bought a flour sifter!  It did NOT work like a charm, however.  I’ll be shopping for a new one.

lemon raspberry cake

P.S.  Don’t you just love my cake platter?  My mom made it.

7 responses to “Lemon Raspberry Layer Cake

  1. This made me very happy. Thanks, neighbor!

  2. Pingback: Infrared Turkeys and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  3. Can I live next to you? This cake looks amazingly delish, Alyssa!

  4. You might both want to think about living next to me. We’re having maple glazed leg of lamb with apple cranberry chutney tonight. Wish you were here …
    No dessert. Bring cake.

  5. Looks yummy! Please post a recipe for lemon bars. I haven’t had them in a loooong time and I need the VVG recipe!

Leave a Reply

