Spicy Almond Cashew Maple Popcorn


I was talking to my dad earlier today and he asked me what I was going to have for supper – “Something healthy, I suppose.”  This was not said in a “Good girl, we raised you to eat healthy meals” sort of way, but rather in a disapproving “where did we go wrong with you?” tone of voice.  I could just picture him, rolling his eyes as he said it.  I replied saying I might just have popcorn.

A diet of popcorn probably isn’t that healthy.  It doesn’t really hit all of the 4 basic food groups, according to the USDA.  However, according to Buddy the Elf, I hit about 1 and a half of the food groups, candy (0), candy canes (0), candy corn (+1/2) and syrup (1).  Not too shabby, in my book.

Spicy Almond Cashew Maple Popcorn (adapted from Dec. 2010 Cooking Light)
oil
popcorn
1/2 c. cashews
1/3. c. almonds
1/4. c. dried currants
1/3 c. sugar
1/2 c. maple syrup
1 T. butter
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

1.  Pop popcorn in a large stockpot.  Let rest after popping.  Stir in nuts and currants.
2.  Bring sugar, maple syrup and remaining ingredients to a boil.  Let cool about 1 minute.
3.  Pour hot sugar goodness over popped corn.  Toss to coat.
4.  Spread the popcorn on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Let cool and enjoy!

Maple Popcorn

4 responses to “Spicy Almond Cashew Maple Popcorn

  1. Mary BethBotting

    Back in the day, I had popcorn for dinner more often than I’d like to mention.
    Yours is way more healthy 😉 than what I used to eat.

  2. Pingback: Black Tea Spiced Pork Tenderloin and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  3. Pingback: Celebrate National Maple Syrup Day!! Maple Cream Candy | VVG – Very, Very Good

Leave a Reply

