Moroccan Carrot Soup


My mom is addicted to magazines a magazine devotee. Whenever I go to my parents there are tons of magazines, begging to be flipped through.  Earlier this fall, I stumbled upon one I didn’t recognize – Mary Jane’s Farm.  To my brusque, “What is this one?” my mom responded, “Oh, it’s some hippie from Idaho.  You’d like it.”

As usual, my mom was right.  I do like this Mary Jane hippie woman.  A cursory glance of her website tells me she is a busy-bee hippie woman at that.  She’s got a magazine to her name, a B&B, some sort of educational farm, and all sorts of earthy-type goods. I love that!  More importantly though, her soup recipe, which I made last night was fast and easy – perfect for a weeknight meal – and delicious.

Moroccan Carrot Soup (from Mary Jane’s Farm)
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 T. olive oil
3 c. diced carrots
3 c. vegetable broth
1/4 c. minced parsley (I used an unidentified quantity of dried)
1 T. honey
1 t. lemon juice
1/2 t. ground cumin
1/2 t. ground allspice

Saute onion and garlic in oil.  Add carrots and vegetable broth; bring to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes.  Add parsley.  Purée.  Stir in honey, lemon juice, and spices.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Enjoy!

Moroccan Carrot Soup

6 responses to “Moroccan Carrot Soup

  1. Pingback: Cocoa-Lavender Cheese Ball and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  2. “Addicted” seems a bit harsh. A “magazine devotee” is a bit kinder, don’t you think? The soup sounds delish. Now that I have the recipe, you can keep that issue.

  3. I made this soup with the VVG expert by my side. She’s right — it is delicious!

  4. Just wanted to thank you, your mom, and the hippie magazine for this recipe. I just made it and I like it! I was too lame to purée it, and it is still yummy! Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup | VVG – Very, Very Good

Leave a Reply

