Wild Rice and Wheatberry Melange


Snow, snow, snow! Should be beautiful in Vermont Minneapolis this time of year, shouldn’t it?

It is!  The snow is wonderful for the following reasons:
1.  I finally had an excuse to finish the new coat I made.
2.  I went snowshoeing for the first time this season to get some provisions and was able to test out my new coat.  It works.
3.  I was given the unique opportunity dig my car out not with a shovel but with a plastic bucket and my broomball stick.  Don’t be fooled.  A bucket is a very effective snow-removal device.  (Dear Santa, I’d like a shovel for Christmas.)

It was also an excuse to eat and drink in my cozy apartment.  In addition to concocting a few beverages (whiskey and apple cider, anyone? 7oz. Miller High Life?), I also made this recipe, one of my all time fall/winter favorites.

Wild Rice and Wheatberry Melange with Shiitake Mushrooms (from Martha Stewart)
1 c. wild rice
8 c. water
1 c. wheatberries
4 Tbsp. butter
1/2 lb. shiitake mushrooms
3/4 c. dried currants, soaked overnight in vodka**
1 small onion
1/2 c. vegetable broth
salt and pepper to taste.

Cook the wild rice in 4 c. water, about 45 minutes.  Drain and set aside.  Do the same with the wheatberries.  Set aside.
Melt the butter in a skillet and saute the mushrooms until they have just begun to wilt.  Add grain mixture, onions, currants and broth to mushrooms.  Cover and cook over low heat until hot, about 10 minutes.  Add salt and pepper to taste and enjoy!

**You can use that currant vodka in a beverage to keep you warm while you cook or to just plain keep you warm!  I mixed the vodka with equal parts Grand Marnier and grapefruit juice in a cocktail shaker to make about 3 martinis.  No, I did not drink all three in case you were wondering.

wild rice and wheatberries

 

3 responses to “Wild Rice and Wheatberry Melange

  1. Pingback: Cranberry Maple Chutney and Morning Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  2. Lovely. That sounds like really good, warming winter fare. I’ve been doing a lot with wheat berries myself this fall and winter–if you think of it ahead of time, try sprouting them for a couple of days. They develop a lot of sweetness and nuttiness, and cook in much less time.

    Cheers~ Brett

Leave a Reply

