Aunt Pat’s Grasshoppers


Happy New Year!!  I hope everyone was able to ring in the new year in a special way.  For my part, I was invited to a “Fattening” party, a potluck with fun people and delicious food, and watched the Badgers try unsuccessfully to bring home a Rose Bowl win.  I’ll admit that the football game, though fun to watch, was a bit disappointing.  The Fattening party on the other hand, was a huge success.  Not only did I get to eat a lot of tasty food and enjoy tons of good laughs, I won Bananagrams at the gift exchange!  Clearly, my year is off to an excellent start.

My contribution to the New Year’s Fattening was twofold.  I brought a version of this squash and lentil salad as my contribution toward health, and Aunt Pat’s Grasshoppers as my contribution toward gluttony.  This is the same Aunt Pat of Brandy Slush fame, so I knew it would be a hit.  That and this was perhaps one of the best parts about the holiday season while growing up, so I saw no reason why it wouldn’t be a wonderful way to ring in the new year with some new friends.

But the best part about these Grasshoppers is that you don’t really need a holiday as an excuse to enjoy them.  I recommend mixing up a batch today to enjoy throughout the new year!!

Aunt Pat’s Grasshoppers
1 pail vanilla ice cream
1/2 c. creme de cacao
1/4 c brandy
3/4 c creme de menthe

Allow ice cream to soften.  Mix in liquors and freeze.  Enjoy!!

4 responses to “Aunt Pat’s Grasshoppers

  1. M-M-M. You’re right, even though the holidays are now officially behind us, I should make some grasshoppers to have on hand for winter treats.

  2. Pingback: Vietnamese Shaking Venison and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  3. The ingredients are very similar to the festive Milk Punch I make every year for my cookie swap: creme de cacao, brandy, and milk instead of ice cream!! I wish I could have one of these delicious milky shakes right now!!! I think this might be the first thing I have after the baby is born.

Leave a Reply

