Stout Venison Stew


School starts up tomorrow and, in preparation for another busy semester, I spent this MLK day cleaning, cleaning and cleaning.  That, and listening to MPR all day (if you didn’t hear Cory Booker’s MLK speech, take a listen.  I thought it was pretty good!).  I always feel a little bit better going into the semester with a clean slate, so to speak.

Once I got the place suitably cleaned up, I decided to make a stew to get me through the week.  After Thanksgiving, my brother sent me home with a little cooler full of venison.  One of the little packs was labeled “stew meat” and much to my delight, it was already cubed for me!  Score!  Now, for a recipe.  For Christmas, my mom made a lamb stew that inspired me to adapt a lamb recipe I found in this months’ Cooking Light for a venison version.  By far, this is the best venison I’ve ever made.  It was super tender, and the vegetables complemented it well.  Between the stew and the clean apartment, I’m ready for a new semester!

Stout Venison Stew
6 Tbsp. olive oil
2 c. chopped onion
1 Tbsp. thyme
2 tsp. rosemary
3 Tbsp. flour
2 lbs. venison, cubed (you could also use lamb or beef)
2 c. stout beer
1 c. red wine
2 c. beef or veggie broth
1 Tbsp tomato paste
1 bay leaf
2 c. potato, cubed
2 c. diced carrot
1 medium turnip, peeled and cubed
8 oz. mushrooms, sliced
1 Tbsp. whole grain Dijon mustard
salt and pepper to taste

1.  Heat a stockpot over medium-high heat.  Add 3 Tbsp oil to pan.  Add onion, thyme, and rosemary.  Sauté for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Place onion mixture in a large bowl.  Place flour in a shallow dish.  Sprinkle venison with salt and pepper.  Dredge venison in flour, shaking off excess.  Return stockpot to medium-high heat and add 1 Tbsp. oil.  Add half of venison to pan and brown on all sides, about 6 minutes.  Add venison to onion mixture.  Repeat with remaining venison.
2.  Add beer to stockpot and bring to a boil, scraping pan to loosen browned bits.  Reduce liquid to 1 cup.  Put onion and venison mixture back in pan.  Stir in the tomato paste and cook for 30 seconds.  Add wine, broth and bay leaf.  Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat and simmer for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
3.  Uncover and stir in potato, carrot, turnips and mushrooms.  Simmer, uncovered for 1 hour and 20 minutes, or until meat and veggies are tender.  Stir in mustard and season with salt and pepper to taste.
Stout Venison Stew

 

 

6 responses to “Stout Venison Stew

  1. Pingback: Stout Venison Stew and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  2. Just wait until you taste it today. It will move from VVG to Sublime!

  3. This was so good. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I made this tonight – it was super tasty. Thank you! I imagine it will only get better as leftovers.

  5. Pingback: Venison Kebabs | VVG – Very, Very Good

Leave a Reply

