Sort-of Mahnomin Porridge


3 days into March Maple Madness, and I’m already slacking.  If I had planned better, I would have make a delicious maple flavored pie in honor of Pi Day. But alas, I just am not that on top of it.  Instead, I’m going to share with you a delicious breakfast treat – Mahnomin Porridge – that you should make before it gets too warm out.

I first had Mahnomin Porridge at Hell’s Kitchen in Minneapolis.  Hell’s Kitchen chef Mitch Omer developed his recipe after reading journals of 1800’s fur traders.  Those fur traders described a tasty treat with wild rice, nuts, berries and of course – maple syrup.  You can find Omer’s original recipe at the Minnesota Historical Society Press website.

My recipe differs from Omer’s in that I used brown rice in addition to wild rice.  Although I would have been perfectly happy to make this with only wild rice, I happened to have some leftover brown rice on hand that I didn’t quite know what to do with.  Enter porridge!  I also substituted yogurt and milk in lieu of the heavy cream.  Again, I have nothing against using heavy whipping cream – bring on the fat! – but I didn’t have any on hand.  But my fully loaded plain Greek yogurt turned out to be a suitable substitute.

The one thing I did NOT mess around with though was the inclusion of maple syrup.  I mean, skipping the maple syrup really wouldn’t be in the spirit of March Maple Madness, now would it?

Sort-of Mahnomin Porridge
4 c. rice (I used about 2 each of brown rice and wild rice)
1 c. milk
1/4 c. plain yogurt
1/4 c. maple syrup
1/2 c. dried cherries
1/4 c. dried blueberries
1/2 c. pistachios

Stir all ingredients together and heat over low heat for two to five minutes, or until thoroughly heated.  Enjoy!

bowl of Mahnomin Porridge

5 responses to “Sort-of Mahnomin Porridge

  1. Oooooh, Please bring some of this with you when you come home to cook sap 🙂

  2. Pingback: Honey Pine Nut Tart and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  3. You go, Alyssa! Way to get mapley with it. Looks like a great way to start the day~ Brett

    • Thanks Brett! I appreciate the support. I’m having fun with all the maple, though I question if my pants will still fit at the end of this madness! Looking forward to trying out your maple recipes soon!

Leave a Reply

