MMM Day 14: Dad’s Weekend Buttermilk Pancakes


Last weekend when I was home a momentous thing happened at the breakfast table.  No, it wasn’t that my dad made the pancakes for breakfast.  He’s been fine-tuning his skills at the griddle for a while now.  The truly remarkable event was this – for the first time in the history of my dad and I eating meals together, my dad got full before I did and I cleaned up his plate!  Yes, you read that correctly – I cleaned up dad’s plate!  In a house full of menfolk, as my mom likes to call them, it’s rare that I finish before them, much less clean up the leftovers.  So this truly is noteworthy news.  Now, to be fair, I ate 3.5 pancakes and my dad slowed down at 5, but still – I cleaned up his plate!  I told him not to get used to this sort of thing…he’s not old enough for this to become a regular occurrence, after all.

Here’s the secret of full father – daughter bellies:

Buttermilk Pancakes (From Betty Crocker)
1 egg
1 c all-purpose flour
1 c buttermilk
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Using whisk, beat egg until fluffy.  Whisk in remaining ingredients until smooth. Allow the batter to “rise” while heating griddle.  (The griddle must be hot enough for water drops to dance and skitter around on it.)  Grease the heated griddle if necessary.

Pour scant 1/4 c of batter onto griddle.  Cook until pancake is puffed and the edges are dry. (The bubbles will begin to pop.) Turn and cook other side until golden.

Serve with butter and Paul Ruesch’s pure maple syrup.

 

 

Note the heart shaped butter – it loves you as much as you love it!

4 responses to “MMM Day 14: Dad’s Weekend Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. These look splendid and delicious-The Ruesch Fam is the greatest!

  2. Pingback: MMM Day 15: Bacon Wrapped Maple Pork Loin | VVG – Very, Very Good

  3. Pingback: Beer-Braised Chicken and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

Leave a Reply

