Pistachio-Chai Muffins


Dear Faithful Readers,

I know it’s been a while since I’ve last posted, but I have a confession to make.  After March Maple Madness a couple of unintended side effects took hold.  First, and foremost, I was coming dangerously close to disliking maple syrup.  Oh, the horrors!  What would I pour on pancakes if I didn’t like maple syrup anymore?  More importantly, would my dad disown me (I mean, he was pretty upset when I told him I don’t like cows milk…thankfully Grandma stuck up for me on that one)?  So, clearly, I had to take it easy on the syrup for at least 2 good reasons.  Second, I was just plain sick of blogging.  I’m glad I took part in my 20 day experiment of daily blogging because it gives me new appreciation for those who blog day in and day out.  I just don’t have enough linguistic fodder to pull that off on a daily basis.  Sorry, folks.  The final unintended consequence, though not wholly unpredictable, was that my pants no longer fit comfortably.  Despite my morning swims, all those maple goodies caught up with my waistline.  And though I did spend copious amounts of money on a new spring wardrobe, apparently my pocketbook does have its limits.

So, for the past two weeks I was doing a modified version of the Fat Flush to reboot my system.  My mom introduced me to the Fat Flush a couple of years ago and I like to do it when I’ve had just a little too much sugar.  Like my dad, I don’t have one sweet tooth, but rather a whole mouth full of sweet teeth, and though I love sugar, I know it won’t love me if I over do it.  Anyway, the Fat Flush was a success, and though the recipes are good, many of them are not VVG and thus inappropriate for this blog.

What is appropriate however, is this muffin I made today to kick off a new era of non-maple recipes.  This is my “I’m back” recipe!  I promise that more will be coming!

Pistachio-Chai Muffins (from May, 2011 Cooking Light)
1 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
2 chai tea bags, opened
1 c. low-fat buttermilk
1/4 c. butter, melted
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, divided
1 large egg, lightly beaten
Cooking spray
1/3 c. shelled dry-roasted pistachios, chopped
1/2 c. powdered sugar
1 Tbsp. water

1.  Preheat oven to 375.
2.  Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk.  Cut open tea bags and add to mixture.  Make a well in the center of the mixture.  Combine buttermilk, butter, 1 tsp. vanilla, and egg in a bowl, stirring well with a whisk.  Add buttermilk mixture to flour mixture, stirring until just moist.
3.  Spray muffin tins with cooking spray.  Divide batter evenly among tins, filling about 2/3 full.  Spring nuts evenly over batter.  Bake at 375 for 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cook for 5 minutes on a wire rack.
4.  Combine remaining 1/2 tsp. vanilla, powdered sugar and 1 Tbsp. water in a bowl until smooth.  Drizzle over muffins.

Pistachio-Chai muffins on plates

Thanks to Michael Diener for the picture!

4 responses to “Pistachio-Chai Muffins

  1. Pingback: Pistachio-Chai Muffins and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  2. I’m so glad you’re back! I know what you mean about waistlines and unappetizing recipes not appropriate for blogging. (Ahem frozen meals make an appearance in my place sometimes.) These muffins sound amazing! I love chai and pistachios. Welcome back!

  3. This recipe doesn’t ever say anything about what to do with the pistachios. I assume fold them into the batter?

Leave a Reply

