If you can’t take the heat…make Cranachan


I suppose getting out of the kitchen would be an option, but what fun would that be?  I know some people who decided that the best way to survive this heat wave was to buy an air conditioner.  (Apparently this is what people do when they become empty nesters.)  I suppose that’s a solution as well, but not as creative as eating your way to a cooler self.

For example, back in the days before my parents had air conditioning (such as when their five children resided with them) the solution was not to give in and buy an ac unit.  No, the solution was to pack all the kids in the minivan and take a drive in the countryside with the ac on full blast.  The ride usually ended up at the Dairy Queen in Mosinee with a round of root beer floats for dinner.  Was the house still hot upon our return?  I don’t remember, to be quite honest, because the wonderful memories of those car rides and root beer floats far outweighs my recollections of a hot and sticky house.

Well…that’s not entirely true.  As I sit here typing up this little blog post, in my sweltering city dwelling – sans AC – with sweat dripping off of me, the memory of a hot and sticky house seems a little too close for comfort (and now that I’m typing, the memory of milking cows and baling hay in this weather suddenly makes me thankful for my sweltering city dwelling!).  But thank goodness I was raised with the good sense to at least get a car with AC and to eat my way to cooling comfort when necessary.

Which brings me (finally!) to today’s recipe.  Nope, it’s not a root beer float, but instead a refreshing dessert that features whipped cream, honey, raspberries and WHISKEY.  My friend and I tried this while on our trip to Scotland and I’ve been waiting for the perfect time to make it.  The perfect time is now!  No baking required, my friends!  Eat your way to comfort!!

Cranachan
1 pint heavy whipping cream
2 Tbsp. single malt whiskey
2 Tbsp. honey
1/2 pint raspberries
2 – 3 tablespoons oat bran (Scottish oatmeal is more like steel cut oats, which I don’t have.  Regular oatmeal just isn’t right.  So, I used oat bran and it was good)

Step 1:  Whip cream until soft peaks form.  Add whiskey and honey and fold in.
Step 2:  Rinse and dry raspberries.  Place a few at the bottom of each glass (I used 3 martini glasses; adjust to your preferences!).  Reserve about 10 for the top.  Fold remaining raspberries into whipped cream deliciousness.
Step 3.  Layer whipped cream mixture over raspberries in glasses.  Cover and chill for at least 2 hours or overnight.
Step 4.  While Cranachan is chilling, toast oat bran in a skillet, about 5 mins.  Set aside to cool.
Step 5.  Sprinkle toasted oat bran over whipped cream and top with remaining raspberries.
Step 6.  Eat your way to coolness, Scottish style!

Cranachan in martini glass

5 responses to “If you can’t take the heat…make Cranachan

  1. That does look like a better solution than AC, especially since a storm knocked out the power last night, which of course means no AC.

  2. He DID get the generator going so I could get ready for work today. There is AC here. That’s gotta count for something!

  3. Pingback: Cranachan and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  4. Any dessert including Scotch whisky is fine by me, Alyssa! Nice story, too.

    Brett

Leave a Reply

