Grandma’s Gingerbread


Where are the posts?  How’s October Unprocessed coming?

Well, the posts have been a little slow to come not because I haven’t been cooking, but because I’ve been spending most of my weekends sewing up a LBD for my friend’s wedding.  More on the dress, the wedding and some food on another day though!

As for how October Unprocessed is going.  Well…ok?  Everything I’ve made in my own home this month has been unprocessed.  But everything I’ve eaten? Far from it!  Last weekend, for example, I was in Des Moines for a conference. I’m pretty sure the brownies I ate for lunch were laden with processed sugar.

So, yes, eating unprocessed foods isn’t too difficult when I’m in control of the ingredients, but it is a bit trickier when I leave home.  Which, you know, I like to do.  Every day.  But really, the biggest challenge this month was to find one of my grandma’s VVG recipes to make that didn’t contain any ingredients that were processed.  You see, two years ago in October, my grandma passed away so I wanted to make something to remind me of her.  I’ve noticed a lot of people checking out the Apple Kuchen recipe lately – so if you made it, I hope you enjoyed every sugary morsel of it.

I was able to slightly adapt my Grandma’s Gingerbread (which she credits to the Grandma’s molasses bottle) recipe to fit the #unprocessed bill though.  I even baked them in cupcake form so that I could freeze a few and enjoy them later this fall.  Which I think is a VVG idea!

Grandma’s Gingerbread
1 stick butter
1/3 c. honey
1 c. molasses
1 egg
2 1/2 c. flour
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. ground ginger
2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. cloves
1 c. boiling water

Heat over to 350 degrees.  Beat butter with honey and molasses.  Mix in egg.  Sift dry ingredients and then add to wet mixture alternately with water until just combined.  Bake in cupcake tins (20 – 25 mins) or greased 9″ pan (40 mins).

Yum!

Grandma's Gingerbread

5 responses to “Grandma’s Gingerbread

  1. Save me one! I’m coming back VERY soon!

  2. P.S. How was the wedding and the dress?! I bet you had a blast and looked great. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Grandma’s Gingerbread and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  4. What flavor is the icing? How did you make it? The cupcake looks great, by the way.

Leave a Reply

